My love for Cornwall

cig_img009

I tend to visit Cornwall at least once a year. I’ve been going since I was a teenager with my family, and I hate it if we don’t visit. I’d even go as far as saying that some of my holidays to Cornwall have beaten my holidays abroad, possibly because it resembles the beautiful sandy beaches of somewhere like Spain, but it’s right on our doorstep. So here’s why I love it so much and my top places to visit whilst your there….

Whenever I visit Cornwall it’s always around September / October time. It’s outside of the school holidays so it’s nice and quiet and I don’t think I have ever been around this time of year and had bad weather! Some of the mornings can be quite crisps, and cold, but theres nothing better than wrapping up warm in our hats and gloves and walking the dogs. Most days it warms up buy lunch time and we’ve found ourselves sat on a harbour side bench eating fish and chips and peeling off all the layers that we had put on that morning.

My number one place to visit, and in fact where I stay almost every time i visit Cornwall, is Crantock. It’s a small village near to Newquay, but Is nothing like Newquay. It’s very quiet and quaint and it’s just perfect for one of those holidays where you want to feel like your truly away from the hustle and bustle of your daily life. It reminds me of the little English country house that appears in the movie “the holiday” with Jude law and Cameron Diaz. It’s that’s typical British quintessential post card village. Your within walking distance to the beach and pretty much just have a post office come newsagents and a couple of local pubs. The beach is my favourite beach in Cornwall, hence why we tend to stay here. Whenever I describe it to people I always say “it almost feels as if nobody knows about it”. I think this is probably down to the size of the beach, it’s a vast stretch of gorgeous golden sand surrounded by large sand dunes that change shape and size every year. You can access the beach through the sand dunes but it’s can be a difficult walk for those who are a little less active. There is also access from the main road, cutting through a field which gives you beautiful views looking down at the beach. However the easiest way to access the beach is by driving right down to the beach car park (you have to pay for parking at certain times or you can walk here from the village). You can then walk around the sand dunes which is a lot easier and is still a pleasant walk past the eastury. My favourite time to visit the beach is around 5pm just before the sun sets as you can get some georgeous photos. The beach is often occupied by local dog walkers at this time which is so nice to see the dogs all running around playing with each other. When we stay in crantock, we mainly book through cottages for you or cantock cottages. The quality of the houses have been amazing. They are always to a high standard, usually modern with a country twist, clean and family friendly, so I would highly recommend these companies. The pubs here aren’t the most amazing food, but they do have lovely atmospheres.

Crantock beach:

 

This year whilst we were staying in crantock, we ventured just over the hill to somewhere called Holywell bay. It’s the first time I had been here and It’s now one of the places that I will regularly visit. The beach is quite similar to crantock, with its beautiful views and sunsets. Just up the hill is the Holywell village,  where we popped in for something to eat. We stopped at a place called The Anvil, which is a small, cute country pub. Apparently it had just been taken over by a new young couple and the food was incredible. I can honestly say this place serves the best chips I have ever eaten! Everyone I went with really enjoyed their food, and we were allowed to take the dogs in. Considering there was 7 of us, plus 4 dogs who strolled in at Lunchtime with no booking, the lady was so accommodating and lovely. Anyway, getting distracted by food again!

Holywell Bay:

Another place I have stayed in is perrenporth. Again it has a lovely beach, with a restaurant on it which we have yet to try. The town has a lot more shops, takeaways and pubs than other places I have mentioned, and resembles more of a Newquay type atmosphere. We stayed slightly outside the town, down a very narrow country track in a hoseseasons lodge. The lodge was lovely, had a hot tub, allowed the dogs to stay, no complaints at all. You really are out in the sticks though and there is no phone signal or internet access despite this being advertised. This wasn’t a problem for us, only when we wanted to order a takeaway! Again the best time to visit the beach was around 4-5pm where people are surfing in the sunset!

Perrenporth beach:

image.jpeg

When we stay in Cornwall we normally stay for a week and try and pop out somewhere different every day, however as we have been so many times, we have a list of our favourite places that we tend to visit each time!

One of these places is Mevagissy. It’s a gorgeous small harbour village, with quaint shops, great crab fishing and the best fish and chips around! There isn’t a huge amount to do here, so we’re normally only here for a couple of hours, it’s just a lovely place to walk around the harbour and shops and have some lunch. If you have young ones, it does have a tiny aquarium which is really cute and take donations to keep it running, and as I mentioned its good for crab fishing if you find the right spot!

Mevagissy Harbour:

Another place we love to visit, and recently discovered more to, is padstow. It’s another harbour town, with similar qualities as mevagissy however there is a hidden beach here that we never knew about. If you walk round the harbour and up the hill, there’s a lovely walk through the hills over looking the river camel and some other beautiful beaches opposite. You can then work your way down some hidden steps to a long golden beach. If your here on a sunny day it’s like being abroad minus all the tourists!

Padstow Beach:

This was in lovely sunny September!

If your looking for somewhere to visit that’s a little less quiet, and has a bit more atmosphere, places such as Newquay and Falmouth are busier towns. Newquay is known for being a great place to go out drinking in the summer, but I think because of this it has got a bit of a bad reputation. We still visit here to do some shopping and get an Ice cream, but I would say the beaches are not as picturesque. I’m not a surfer myself, but I hear Newquay and neighbouring bay Fistrel beach are the best for this.

I will continue to add to this post with more of my Cornish adventures as I go along 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

